

UNION EUROPÉENNE DES MÉDÉCINS SPÉCIALISTES EUROPEAN UNION OF MEDICAL SPECIALISTS

tel: +32-2-649.5164

fax: +32-2-640.3730

Secretariat/Siège:, B-1050 BRUSSELS Av.de la Couronne, 20, Kroonlaan www.uems.be

<u>lems.be</u> e-mail: <u>uems@skynet.be</u>

UEMS - A short history

Foundation

On **20 July 1958** - one year after the treaty of Rome was signed -, the representatives delegated by the professional organizations of medical specialists of the six member countries of the very new European Community (EEC), who met in Brussels, created the European Union of Medical Specialists (UEMS).

Thanks to the perceptiveness of its founders and through the impetus given by the French gynaecologist, Jacques Courtois, its first president, and by the Belgian ORL Oscar Godin, Secretary-General, the UEMS soon established contacts with the concerned authorities of the EEC (notably with J.-P.de Crayencour) and defined the basic principles in the field of training of European medical specialists.

UEMS Policy

The UEMS tackled straightaway the problem of quality, trying to obtain from the European Commission and the member States a level of training comparably high for the future medical specialists of the Six Common Market countries. This vision of the future resulted in the elaboration of common general criteria, applicable to all specialists wishing to move from one member country to another.

Sections

To realize this ambitious objective, the UEMS created from 1962 Specialist Sections for each of the main disciplines practised in the member States. These groups of experts, composed of representatives of the national associations of the specialty concerned, carried out a considerable amount of work with the idea of coordinating, then harmonizing the specialist trainings and the criteria for the recognition of medical specialists.

The UEMS and its Sections developed their action in constant cooperation with the Standing Committee of European Doctors, created in 1959 and bringing together the whole of the organized medical profession of the member States. The first European directives concerning doctors, published only in 1975, were quite largely inspired by the proposals and the surveys presented by the UEMS and its Specialist Sections.

UEMS members

In the meantime, the European Community was enlarged, first with the United Kingdom, Denmark and Ireland - which resulted in the need to make some improvements to the proposals of the doctors' directives that were ready to be published - then progressively with the six other countries presently also belonging to the European Union, as well as with Norway and Switzerland. These successive enlargements led to important changes in the different organs of the UEMS, its statutes and the composition of its various Specialist Sections, of which the number gradually increased to 34.

EACCME

The bringing into force of the doctors' directives was followed by the creation by the European Commission of an Advisory Committee on Medical Training, a community institution ensuring the link between the European professional medical organizations, the universities and the national governments on the one hand, and the Commission on the other.

The UEMS immediately established close relations with this new body which successively auditioned all the Specialist Sections of the UEMS during the years 1980 -1981. Each Section had submitted a report explaining its conceptions and proposals regarding the evolution of the specialty. This vast consultation, organized on the initiative of Dr Pierre Pouyaud (F), who presided the UEMS and the Advisory Committee at the time, and of Dr. Guy Des Marez (B), Secretary-General of the UEMS, led to the publication of the second and third reports and recommendations of this committee concerning the training of medical specialists. Finally, in the nineties, a new dynamic managing team composed of Drs L.P.Harvey (GB), A.Kuttner (D), R.Peiffer (B), J.-C.Schaack (L), P.Fédi (F) and C.C.Leibbrandt (NL) gave the UEMS a real lease of vitality by creating European "Boards", working groups of the Specialist Sections, in order to guarantee optimal care in the field of the specialty concerned by bringing the training of medical specialists to the highest level possible. It elaborated European charters on the training of medical specialists and on the assurance of quality in specialist medicine, a key document on the autonomy of practice of medical specialists, highlighted the role and determining action of the Specialist Sections, basic cells of the UEMS, and progressively opened the UEMS to the countries of central and eastern Europe.

Updated version: February 26, 2003

EUROPEAN UNION OF MEDICAL SPECIALISTS, U.E.M.S. EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 1958 - 1999

PRESIDENTS

1958-1968 Dr Jacques COURTOIS (F)

1968-1982 Dr Pierre POUYAUD (F)

1982-1987 Dr Manfredo FANFANI (I)

1987-1993 Dr Alexandre KUTTNER (D)

1993-1999 Dr Leonard P.HARVEY (GB)

1999- 2002 Dr Cillian TWOMEY (IRL)

GENERAL SECRETARIES

1958-1968 Dr Oscar GODIN (B)

1968-1979 Dr Hubert DELUNE (B)

1980-1990 Dr Guy DES MAREZ (B)

1990-1999 Dr Robert PEIFFER (B)

1999- 2002 Dr Cees C. LEIBBRANDT (NL)

LIAISON OFFICERS

1958-1968 Dr C.L.C.VAN NIEUWENHUIZEN (NL)

1968-1980 Dr H.VAN GIFFEN (NL)

1980-1984 Dr H.P.J.WINTERS (NL)

1984-1990 Dr A.J.SIMONS (NL)

1990-1996 Dr Pierre FÉDI (F)

1996-1999 Dr Cees C.LEIBBRANDT (NL)

1999- Dr Leonard P.HARVEY (GB)

TREASURERS

1958-1965 Dr Paul MUNDELEER (B)

1965-1968 Dr Hubert DELUNE (B)

1968-1973 Dr Joseph VAN ESPEN (B)

1973-1980 Dr Guy DES MAREZ (B)

1980-1990 Dr Paul ROOSE (B)

1990- 2002 Dr Jean-Claude SCHAACK (L)

MANAGING DIRECTORS

1958-1996 Mr Christian PAUL (B)

1997- Mrs Bénédicte REYCHLER (B)